BNZ to chair New Zealand Bankers’ Association

Bank of New Zealand chief executive Anthony Healy has been elected chair of the New Zealand Bankers’ Association for 2015/16 and takes on the role today.

ANZ chief executive David Hisco was elected deputy chair.

“I am delighted to take the role of Chair on behalf of BNZ. The Association is integral to maintaining the balance between workable regulation and economic growth which is of substantial benefit to the country.

“Our banks are rated as the most sound in the world and we look forward to a productive year with the Association and its members, and continuing meaningful engagement with stakeholders,” said Anthony Healy.

BNZ takes over the chair bank role from ASB.

New Zealand Bankers’ Association chief executive Kirk Hope said, “I would like to thank Barbara Chapman for her contribution as chair over the last year, and welcome Anthony Healy to the role.”

Established in 1891, the New Zealand Bankers’ Association advocates on behalf of the industry in support of a successful banking system that benefits New Zealanders and the New Zealand economy.