Westpac to chair New Zealand Bankers’ Association

Westpac New Zealand chief executive Peter Clare has been elected chair of the New Zealand Bankers’ Association for 2013/14.

ASB Bank chief executive Barbara Chapman was elected deputy chair.

“I look forward to working with colleagues from across the industry,” said Peter Clare.

“We have a strong and stable banking sector which invests in New Zealand and supports the needs of households and businesses. That’s particularly apparent when we look at the experience of other countries at the moment.”

Westpac takes over the chair bank role from ANZ.

New Zealand Bankers’ Association chief executive Kirk Hope said, “I would like to acknowledge David Hisco’s contribution as chair over the last year, and welcome Peter Clare to the role.”

The New Zealand Bankers’ Association is the industry’s voice and promotes policy outcomes which contribute to a successful banking system that benefits New Zealanders and the New Zealand economy.

Association membership is open to any bank registered under the Reserve Bank of New Zealand Act 1989. Currently the association has 14 members. The association’s governing body is its council, comprising the chief executive of each member bank.