BNZ to chair New Zealand Bankers’ Association

The new Chair of the New Zealand Bankers’ Association (NZBA) for 2011/12 is Bank of
New Zealand Managing Director and Chief Executive Andrew Thorburn.

David Hisco, Chief Executive Officer of ANZ New Zealand, is the Deputy Chair.

Thorburn, who takes on this role in NZBA’s 120th anniversary year said, “BNZ is pleased to
be taking the Chair position for the next 12 months. As an industry we will continue to strive
to deliver a strong, stable and responsive banking system for the benefit of all
New Zealanders.”

BNZ takes over the mantle of Chair bank from ASB Bank. “I look forward to working with
Andrew Thorburn. I am also very grateful for the leadership, support and assistance initially
of Charles Pink, and then Ian Park, over the last year while ASB was our Chair bank,” said
NZBA Chief Executive Sarah Mehrtens.

Established in 1891, NZBA is a non-profit unincorporated association funded by member
banks. In conjunction with its members, NZBA develops and promotes the banking industry
viewpoint on non-competitive issues in policy discussions and in the media. NZBA also
facilitates good practices in the banking industry through the Code of Banking Practice.

NZBA membership is open to any bank registered under the Reserve Bank of New Zealand
Act 1989. Currently 12 registered banks are NZBA members. NZBA