New Zealand Bankers Association welcomes Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi

The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ Limited has joined the New Zealand Bankers’ Association.

New Zealand Bankers’ Association chief executive Sarah Mehrtens welcomed its new member bank. ‘I am delighted by the Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi’s decision to join. The New Zealand Bankers’ Association represents the common interests of the major players in the sector’ said Mehrtens.

The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi has been operating in New Zealand since 2004, prior to which it operated as a branch of a subsidiary from 1996. It is part of the international Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ Limited group, the premier commercial banking arm of the Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group Inc.

The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi’s Auckland general manager Michael Ryff said the bank wanted to play a full part in the commercial and banking life of New Zealand.

Other New Zealand Bankers’ Association members are ANZ New Zealand (including National Bank), ASB Bank, Bank of New Zealand, Citibank, Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation, Kiwibank, Rabobank New Zealand, TSB Bank, and Westpac New Zealand.


For further information please contact Philip van Dyk, Communications Director, on 04 802 3354 or 021 242 0428.